[Click above for album images]

This project came about after Jimmy Page's disliking of the sub-standard conversion of the Led Zeppelin catalog to CD by Atlantic Records.

Jimmy Page spent a week in May 1990 at Sterling Studios in New York remastering the entire catalog with engineer George Marino.

The songs on Disc One are taken mostly from the first four albums--songs like Good Times Bad Times and Communication Breakdown demonstrate just how Led Zeppelin could perform "in your face" rock 'n roll, while Dazed And Confused and Since I've Been Loving You reflect the blues roots of these players. Whole Lotta Love and Black Dog show one of the band's true strengths, improvisation, while Rock And Roll and Heartbreaker show flashes of the metal influences that Led Zeppelin exerted on the many groups that attempted to emulate them.

Zeppelin did plenty of acoustic work too. The Battle Of Evermore, Ramble On, and Babe I'm Gonna Leave You are all acoustic pieces that feature the talents of Led Zeppelin without the veil of amplification, and it's fine work indeed.

Disc Two focuses on the latter part of the career of the band--the controlled violence of the extended jam in The Song Remains The Same is nicely balanced by the delicacy of The Rain Song, and D'yer Mak'er is an exercise in reggae rhythms that resembles the Caribbean feel of All Of My Love. No Quarter, Trampled Underfoot and Nobody's Fault But Mine are brooding tunes that represent where Led Zeppelin went with their early blues influences, while the epic Kashmir, perhaps their greatest accomplishment, shows just how expansive this band's sound could be.

Feb. 21, 1992

Chart Position:
#47 (US)



1. Communication Breakdown
2. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
3. Good Times Bad Times
4. Dazed And Confused
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Heartbreaker
7. Ramble On
8. Immigrant Song
9. Celebration Day
10. Since I've Been Loving You
11. Black Dog
12. Rock And Roll
13. The Battle Of Evermore
14. Misty Mountain Hop
15. Stairway To Heaven

1. The Song Remains The Same
2. The Rain Song
3. D'yer Mak'er
4. No Quarter
5. Houses Of The Holy
6. Kashmir
7. Trampled Underfoot
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Achilles Last Stand
10. All My Love
11. In The Evening

1) Led Zeppelin Profile
2–8) Jimmy Page Station Liners
9–16) Jimmy Page interview
21–32) Robert Plant interview
33–43) John Paul Jones interview
Quick Fact

Remasters was originally intended to be a scaled-down European-only release.

Rick's Cool Collectibles

Rick's Cool Collectibles is a memorabilia mail order company serving collectors worldwide! Since 1979 the name Rick Barrett has been associated with quality collectibles including rare concert & event tickets and stubs, Led Zeppelin memorabilia, select music & sports memorabilia, stamps, coins, old postcards, and more!

This Month in
Led Zeppelin History

September 07, 1968 - The band fulfills some old Yardbirds dates in Scandanavia
September xx, 1969 - Jimmy Page is reported saying the second album will be harder than the first
September 19, 1970 - Led Zeppelin gross over $100,000 for two performances at Madison Square Gardens on the same day
September xx, 1971 - Jimmy Page is furious over a live Yardbirds release. It was forced off the shelves
September xx, 1971 - The band vacations in Hawaii
September xx, 1972 - Discussions to play various countries ends with a decision to play Japan again
September xx, 1973 - Jimmy Page considers a live release of material before releasing a new album
September 14, 1974 - Led Zeppelin and CSN&Y jam at an after party
September xx, 1975 - Jimmy meets up with Robert in Malibu, where he is staying on a tax exile
September 12, 1976 - Page and Bonham return to Switzerland and record a drum piece title Bonzo’s Montreux
September 08, 1977 - Page takes to the stage with other well knowns at a WEA records sales conference
September 15, 1978 - Zep road manager Richard Cole and Bad Company’s Simon Kirke get married in a double ceremony
September 17, 1979 - Promoter Fred Bannister forced into liquidation over Knebworth Sales with Led Zeppelin
September 18, 1980 - Jimmy reviews a new stage set up and technical details for the Eighties Part One tour at Swan Song offices
September 25, 1980 - John Bonham is found dead in Jimmy Page’s Windsor mansion by sound technician Benji Le Fevre
September 12, 2007 - It was announced at a press conference by Harvey Goldsmith that the remaining members of Led Zeppelin would reunite with Jason Bonham on drums.
© 1996 - 2020 Led Zeppelin: Achilles Last Stand - All Rights Reserved
Advertise | Disclaimer | Site Map