Main        |      Studio and Live Gear|News|Contact
    Facebook  Twitter  Instagram 

How The West Was Won
[Click above for album images]

This collection of performances from 2 shows in 1972 (June 25th at LA Forum, June 27th at Long Beach Arena) represent Led Zeppelin at their best. The versions of Whole Lotta Love, Dazed and Confused, and Bring It On Home are all at least 10 minutes in length and are sure to please every Zeppelin fan out there. Whole Lotta Love is here in all its live glory, containing the medley of covers that extended it to 23+ minutes of pure Zeppelin bliss. As expected, Dazed and Confused features Jimmy Page playing his guitar with the violin bow, and is yet another stellar version of this song to add to our CD collections. The acoustic set here is also present, featuring excellent versions of Going to California, That's The Way, and Bron-Y-Aur Stomp. The medley of LA Drone & Immigrant Song kicks the set off with a bang, and an excellent version of Heartbreaker follows, with Page totally kicking but during his solo, incorporating Bach's Bouree in E-Minor into it. There are stellar versions of Stairway to Heaven, Since I've Been Loving You, and What Is and What Should Never Be on here as well. As expected, the 23-minute Whole Lotta Love medley is a definite highlight, as is Dazed and Confused. Drummers are bound to be impressed by the late, great John Bonham's extended drum solo on Moby Dick.

Although the Houses of the Holy album had yet to be released, those in attendence were treated to previews of some of the songs, and the versions of Over the Hills and Far Away, Dancing Days, and The Ocean all kick massive behind. A just-under-10-minute version of Bring It On Home closes off this CD with a bang, and leaving the listener in awe.

Also when listening to it, one cannot help but notice how good the sound quality is. Any Zeppelin fan knows that Jimmy Page, producer for all the albums and a key songwriter, settles for nothing but the best, and only that. When Led Zeppelin's catalogue was first released on CD, the sound quality was inferior, so Jimmy Page himself remastered the CDs, showing that he not only cares about the old fans, but the young fans growing in the 1990s discovering the group. With BBC Sessions, Jimmy was in charge of that, and gave us a great sounding album of BBC material. And once again, he has proven his loyalty to the fans (and to himself and his band) and given us an amazing-sounding live record with great material on it.

May 27, 2003 (US)
May 27, 2003 (UK)

Chart Position:
#1 (US) #5 (UK)

Gold: May 27, 2003
Multi Platinum: May 27, 2003


1. LA Drone
2. Immigrant Song
3. Heartbreaker
4. Black Dog
5. Over The Hills And Far Away
6. Since I've Been Loving You
7. Stairway To Heaven
8. Going To California
9. That's The Way
10. Bron-Y-Aur Stomp

1. Dazed And Confused
2. What Is And What Should Never Be
3. Dancing Days
4. Moby Dick

1. Whole Lotta Love
2. Rock And Roll
3. The Ocean
4. Bring It On Home
Quick Fact

Plant said, "When we did the LA Forum, we made some recordings of the rehearsal, and we did about an hour's run through which we ended up getting an echo set going. I think we played every number on Elvis' 'Golden Discs Volume One'."

Candy Store Rock Gifts

Novel gifts for the consummate Led Zeppelin fan, as well as the best selection of quality gifts and accessories for musicians.

This Month in
Led Zeppelin History

© 1996 - 2018 Led Zeppelin: Achilles Last Stand - All Rights Reserved
Advertise | Disclaimer | Site Map