Main        |      Studio and Live Gear|News|Contact
    Facebook  Twitter  Instagram 

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/15/10777215/html/libraries/joomla/cache/controller/view.php on line 137

Led Zeppelin

Led Zeppelin
[Click above for album images]

The box-set comes with a brilliant booklet, filled with great essays on Zep from people like Cameron Crowe and Robert Palmer, topped off with great photos of the band & concise recording information for each song. Added to that the sequence of each CD and sound was remastered by Jimmy Page. The box-set touches on every Zep release, bar the live collection The Song Remains the Same.

CD One takes in tracks from the first three albums, from the obvious Whole Lotta Love, Ramble On, Communication Breakdown and Dazed And Confused to the more obscure, such as the Coda take of I Can't Quit You Baby from a soundcheck at the Royal Albert Hall in 1970; the Jimmy Page solo White Summer/Black Mountain Side, Immigrant Song and b-side Hey Hey What Can I Do. Other highlights include the rarity Travelling Riverside Blues, the divine Thank You and the underrated Your Time Is Gonna Come. The second CD is more varied (perhaps more accurately descibed as loaded)- the 15 tracks coming from the bestselling untitled fourth album. I like the way Houses Of The Holy's The Rain Song precedes Stairway To Heaven, or how we have several acoustic tracks The Battle Of Evermore, Bron-Y-Aur Stomp, Tangerine and Going To Califonia before the epic blues of Since I've Been Loving You. Black Dog and Misty Mountain Hop and D'yer Mak'er are rather fun tunes.

The third CD takes in the more epic side of the band, probably my favorite of the four. Physical Graffiti is well represented by the vast Eastern-inflected Kashmir, Trampled Underfoot, the fragile beauty of Ten Years Gone and the 11-minute In My Time Of Dying. There are three tracks from Houses Of The Holy: the rockin' Dancing Days, the powerfully-structured The Song Remains The Same & the epic keyboard-based No Quarter. When The Levee Breaks is included here and still sounds great- the drumbeat being sampled/mimicked on records such as Beastie Boys' Rhymin' & Stealin' and Chapterhouse's Pearl. Great to see two of the best tracks from the underrated Presence album: the huge hurt of For Your Life and possibly the band's finest moment -- the 10-minute primal thrash of Achilles Last Stand.

The final CD contains 14 tracks -- a reworked Coda-track Moby's Dick/Bonzo's Montreux, programmed by Jimmy Page, alongside several other Coda-songs: Ozone Baby, Poor Tom and Wearing and Tearing. There's also another Houses Of The Holy song, the somewhat overplayed The Ocean. There are more delights from Physical Graffiti: the experimental In the Light, the belated title track Houses Of The Holy and the acoustic-based The Wanton Song. Single Fool In The Rain is another uniquely-sounding track and the other songs from Presence are great: single Candy Store Rock and Nobody's Fault But Mine is another classic. Finally we have a few songs from the somewhat patchy In Through the Out Door album: the vast In The Evening, the blues-based I'm Gonna Crawl and the best track from that album -- the touching All My Love-- which ends a suitably great boxset from a suitably great band.

Essay 1 | Essay 2 | Essay 3


Oct. 29, 1990 (US)
Oct. 29, 1990 (UK)

Chart Position:
#18 (US) #48 (UK)

Gold: 12-11-1990
Multi Platinum: 10x 3-02-2001


1. Whole Lotta Love
2. Heartbreaker
3. Communication Breakdown
4. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
5. What Is And What Should Never Be
6. Thank You
7. I Can't Quit You Baby
8. Dazed And Confused
9. Your Time Is Gonna Come
10. Ramble On
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Friends
13. Celebration Day
14. Hey Hey What Can I Do
15. White Summer/Black Mountain Side

1. Black Dog
2. Over The Hills And Far Away
3. Immigrant Song
4. The Battle Of Evermore
5. Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
6. Tangerine
7. Going To California
8. Since I've Been Loving You
9. D'yer Mak'er
10. Gallows Pole
11. Custard Pie
12. Misty Mountain Hop
13. Rock And Roll
14. The Rain Song
15. Stairway To Heaven

1. Kashmir
2. Trampled Underfoot
3. For Your Life
4. No Quarter
5. Dancing Days
6. When The Levee Breaks
7. Achilles Last Stand
8. The Song Remains The Same
9. Ten Years Gone
10. In My Time Of Dying

1. In The Evening
2. Candy Store Rock
3. The Ocean
4. Ozone Baby
5. Houses Of The Holy
6. Wearing And Tearing
7. Poor Tom
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Fool In The Rain
10. In The Light
11. The Wanton Song
12. Moby Dick/Bonzo's Montreux
13. I'm Gonna Crawl
14. All My Love
Quick Fact

At each the four corners of the box set front cover there is a number. The numbers and what they represent are:

54: The number of songs on the box set.
69: (19)69, the year the first studio album was released.
79: (19)79, the year the last studio album was released.
(X): The sideways '8' is the mathematical symbol for infinity, representing of course, how long the music will last.


Candy Store Rock Gifts

Novel gifts for the consummate Led Zeppelin fan, as well as the best selection of quality gifts and accessories for musicians.

This Month in
Led Zeppelin History

Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/content/15/10777215/html/templates/lzorg1/index.php on line 148
November 21, 1968 - Robert becomes a father to a baby girl named Carmen Jane.
November 09, 1968 - Robert marries Maureen in London. Their reception is a performance at the Roundhouse in London
November xx, 1969 - Tempers flare over Atlantic in the UK wanting to release singles
November xx, 1969 - Recording for Led Zeppelin III begins at Olympic Studios in London
November xx, 1970 - Plans are in motion for a Yardbirds reunion
November 08, 1971 - Finally after much anticipation, Untitled is released
November xx, 1972 - Houses Of The Holy is mixed and completed
November 10, 1972 - Led Zeppelin sell out 120,000 tickets in one day
November xx, 1973 - Initial recordings for Physical Graffiti commences at Headley Grange
November 04, 1973 - Led Zeppelin finalize the purchase of Headley Grange to be their new corporate headquarters
November xx, 1974 - The band makes plans and rehearses for the tenth North American tour
November xx, 1975 - Led Zeppelin records Presence in a mere 18 days
November xx, 1976 - Led Zeppelin book into Ezyhire Studios to rehearse new material for an upcoming tour
November 04, 1976 - The Song Remains The Same movie premieres in Europe
November xx, 1977 - Jimmy dispells rumors of Led Zeppelin’s break up
November 06, 1978 - Led Zeppelin purchase and ship new gear to Polar Studios to begin work on a new album
November 10, 1979 - Led Zeppelin and their entire entourage attend an ABBA concert
November 07, 1980 - The band meets with Peter Grant to announce the retirement of Led Zeppelin
November 29, 1999 - The RIAA announced that Led Zeppelin were only the third act in music history to achieve four or more Diamond albums, a Diamond album being awarded for accredited sales of more than 10 million units in the US.
November 01, 2007 - An announcement was made that Jimmy Page had fractured his finger on his left hand after a fall in his garden and the reunion show would be postponed to December 10, 2007.
© 1996 - 2017 Led Zeppelin: Achilles Last Stand - All Rights Reserved
Advertise | Disclaimer | Site Map