Main        |      Studio and Live Gear|News|Contact
    Facebook  Twitter  Instagram 

[Click above for album images]

This project came about after Jimmy Page's disliking of the sub-standard conversion of the Led Zeppelin catalog to CD by Atlantic Records.

Jimmy Page spent a week in May 1990 at Sterling Studios in New York remastering the entire catalog with engineer George Marino.

The songs on Disc One are taken mostly from the first four albums--songs like Good Times Bad Times and Communication Breakdown demonstrate just how Led Zeppelin could perform "in your face" rock 'n roll, while Dazed And Confused and Since I've Been Loving You reflect the blues roots of these players. Whole Lotta Love and Black Dog show one of the band's true strengths, improvisation, while Rock And Roll and Heartbreaker show flashes of the metal influences that Led Zeppelin exerted on the many groups that attempted to emulate them.

Zeppelin did plenty of acoustic work too. The Battle Of Evermore, Ramble On, and Babe I'm Gonna Leave You are all acoustic pieces that feature the talents of Led Zeppelin without the veil of amplification, and it's fine work indeed.

Disc Two focuses on the latter part of the career of the band--the controlled violence of the extended jam in The Song Remains The Same is nicely balanced by the delicacy of The Rain Song, and D'yer Mak'er is an exercise in reggae rhythms that resembles the Caribbean feel of All Of My Love. No Quarter, Trampled Underfoot and Nobody's Fault But Mine are brooding tunes that represent where Led Zeppelin went with their early blues influences, while the epic Kashmir, perhaps their greatest accomplishment, shows just how expansive this band's sound could be.

Feb. 21, 1992

Chart Position:
#47 (US)



1. Communication Breakdown
2. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
3. Good Times Bad Times
4. Dazed And Confused
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Heartbreaker
7. Ramble On
8. Immigrant Song
9. Celebration Day
10. Since I've Been Loving You
11. Black Dog
12. Rock And Roll
13. The Battle Of Evermore
14. Misty Mountain Hop
15. Stairway To Heaven

1. The Song Remains The Same
2. The Rain Song
3. D'yer Mak'er
4. No Quarter
5. Houses Of The Holy
6. Kashmir
7. Trampled Underfoot
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Achilles Last Stand
10. All My Love
11. In The Evening

1) Led Zeppelin Profile
2–8) Jimmy Page Station Liners
9–16) Jimmy Page interview
21–32) Robert Plant interview
33–43) John Paul Jones interview
Quick Fact

Remasters was originally intended to be a scaled-down European-only release.

Candy Store Rock Gifts

Novel gifts for the consummate Led Zeppelin fan, as well as the best selection of quality gifts and accessories for musicians.

This Month in
Led Zeppelin History

October xx, 1968 - Led Zeppelin is recorded
October 19, 1968 - Final performance as the New Yardbirds
October 31, 1969 - Led Zeppelin II is released in the US
October 17, 1969 - Bonham is thrilled to play Carnegie Hall where Buddy Rich and Gene Krupa have performed
October 23, 1970 - Led Zeppelin III is released in the US
October xx, 1970 - The press lash out at the band over the Led Zeppelin III acoustic content
October xx, 1971 - Page and Plant venture around Thailand and India after the Japan tour
October 18, 1972 - Zeppelin rehearse at the Rainbow Theater for a UK tour
October xx, 1973 - Each member performs an individual film sequence for their concept film
October 31, 1974 - Swan Song hosts a party for the launch of its UK division
October xx, 1975 - Led Zeppelin decide not to tour and concentrate on recording new material
October 20, 1976 - The Song Remains The Same premieres at New York’s Cinema One
October xx, 1977 - Jimmy starts assembling a Led Zeppelin live album from recordings as far back as 1969
October xx, 1978 - Jones and Bonham record with Paul McCartney at Abbey Road Studios
October xx, 1978 - Rehearsals for In Through The Out Door in London
October xx, 1979 - All nine Led Zeppelin albums enter the Billboards Top 200 -- no other band has ever achieved this
October 10, 1980 - A private funeral is held for John Bonham at Rushock church in Worcestershire
© 1996 - 2018 Led Zeppelin: Achilles Last Stand - All Rights Reserved
Advertise | Disclaimer | Site Map